Brief History of the Hopkins Urban Fellows Program

The International Fellows Program in Urban Studies was established in 1968 at Wayne State University in Detroit, Michigan, by Rea Keast, president of Wayne State University, who appointed Jack Fisher, Ph.D. the program’s first director.  The program was fully funded by the Ford Foundation.

When Jack Fisher moved to Johns Hopkins in the early 1970s, he brought the Urban Fellows Program – and the Ford Foundation funding – with him.  The Program was then housed at the Johns Hopkins Center for Metropolitan Planning and Research, or “Metro Center”.  In the late 1980s, Jack Fisher stepped down as director of the Metro Center.

In 1987, the center was transformed into the Institute for Policy Studies (IPS) and Lester Salamon, Ph.D., was hired to be IPS’ first director. Salamon inherited the Urban Fellows Program, and was its titular director for several years. He then designated Michael Bell, Ph.D., a researcher at IPS, to run the program. Bell departed IPS in the mid-1990s at which point the program had hosted only a single fellow in about a 3-year period.

In 1997, Salamon stepped down as director and Sandra Newman, Ph.D. became interim director of IPS and, in 2000, director of IPS.  She has directed the Hopkins Fellows Program since 1997. When the Institute for Policy Studies (IPS) became the Institute for Health and Social Policy (IHSP), as part of the Bloomberg School of Public Health, the new IHSP Director, Pierre-Gerlier Forest, Ph.D. kept Dr. Sandra Newman as the Director of the Fellows Program.